A.E. Bud Bailey and James Dana Pinney
Late Payment of Wages
Under Oregon Law…
If your employer failed to follow the law, you may receive penalty wages for up to 30 days of pay.
DEDUCTIONS FROM WAGES
Generally under Oregon law, you must give written authorization before your employer can make any deduction from your wages, and the deduction must be for your benefit, unless that deduction is authorized by law or collective bargaining agreement, or is authorized by you for payment to a third party.
Oregon law provides a $200 penalty or actual damages for a wrongful deduction from your wages.
Employers MAY NOT make deductions from your earnings for the cost of breakages or losses, unless you agree to the deduction in writing.
An itemized statement of deductions made from your wages must be furnished to you on each regular payday at the time wages are paid. The statement must show the amount and purpose of each deduction.
Bailey Pinney & Associates, LLC